Using EXIF fields for Renaming

Would you like Bulk Rename Utility to offer new functionality? Post your comments here!

Using EXIF fields for Renaming

Postby 21st Hermit » Sat Jun 17, 2006 5:35 pm

This feature may already exist, don't know. Options > Extract EXIF data, didn't seem to do anything.

I'm a Panorama/Array photographer, a P/A can consist of anywhere from 3 - 300 photos which are then "stitched" together. I organize the P/A sets into geographic folders. The single most important EXIF field to identify a contiguous P/A set is Focal Length.

Can BRU identify the EXIF focal length and use that field in the file name?

The only program that I'm aware that can use EXIF FL in file renaming is Chris Breeze's Downloader Pro. From my tests, it appears DLPro can use any EXIF field in the file name. However, the DL metaphor creates some clunkiness in renaming.

Please ask some questions if I'm not being clear.

Hermit
21st Hermit

Postby Admin » Sat Jun 17, 2006 8:00 pm

Hi,

At the moment, the only field that gets extracted is the "date taken" field. However there's nothing to stop me extracting the other fields too, and perhaps allowing them to be used somehow within the name. The screen is a bit crowded, so it might have to be via some clever way - ideas welcome!

When you say that the Extract Exif DATE item does nothing -it should extract the "date taken" information. Is it not doing this?

Jim
Admin
Site Admin

Postby 21st Hermit » Sat Jun 17, 2006 9:14 pm

Hi Jim,

As a general comment, date renamers are a "dime-a-dozen" everybody is fixated on date. Having another date renamer does nothing to set BRU apart from a crowded field. My take is that Explorer already shows me the Date:Time, why does it need repeating in the file name? However, universal EXIF renamers are nowhere to be found. Perhaps a need/market opportunity, perhaps not.