Regrouping a file name with Regexp?

A swapping-ground for Regular Expression syntax

Regrouping a file name with Regexp?

Postby smorris » Mon Jul 19, 2010 9:32 pm

I'm a total regexp newb, but I was wondering if anyone here could help me out. I'm trying to use Bulk Rename Utility to rename a batch of scanned medical records to a new scheme. Basically, the current files look like this:
Code: Select all
IME John Smith 01-01-10.tiff
UR Jane Doe 01-03-05.tiff
IME John Doe 04-04-05.tiff
and I want them to look like this:
20100101 John Smith IME.tiff
20050301 Jane Doe UR.tiff
20050404 John Doe IME.tiff

The first part, the type of file, can be IME, UR, ADD UR, ADD IME, 2ND IME, or 2ND UR. The name is usually first and last, but some files have up to five names listed. The date is currently in mm-dd-yy format and I want it to be converted to yyyymmdd.

How would this be done with regexps and the Batch Renaming Utility software? Any input would be appreciated greatly! I have thousands of these files that I would like to rename and doing them by hand would take weeks. Thanks!
smorris

Re: Regrouping a file name with Regexp?

Postby Stefan » Tue Jul 20, 2010 8:01 am

Hi smorris, welcome.

smorris wrote:I'm a total regexp newb, but I was wondering if anyone here could help me out. I'm trying to use Bulk Rename Utility to rename a batch of scanned medical records to a new scheme. Basically, the current files look like this:
IME John Smith 01-01-10.tiff
IME John Doe 04-04-05.tiff
and I want them to look like this:
20100101 John Smith IME.tiff
20050404 John Doe IME.tiff

The first part, the type of file, can be IME, UR, ADD UR, ADD IME, 2ND IME, or 2ND UR. The name is usually first and last, but some files have up to five names listed. The date is currently in mm-dd-yy format and I want it to be converted to yyyymmdd.