Different results between BRU and The Regex Coach

A swapping-ground for Regular Expression syntax

Different results between BRU and The Regex Coach

Postby tinmanjim » Wed Oct 05, 2011 1:06 am

Hi; I'm fairly new to this regex stuff, but enjoy trying to figure things out. To that end, I downloaded 'The Regex Coach', and it seemingly helped me a lot. I say 'seemingly' because when I played around and got a regex expression to do exactly what I wanted in the Coach, I then copied said expression from the Coach and pasted it into the Regex (1) match field. When I then selected the files I wanted to try it on, nothing happened. (I should say that what I'm trying to do is replace part of the middle of a file name with a period (.), so I wrote a regex to match the part I want to delete, and typed a period in the replace field.)
Like I said, nothing happened. Then I typed a period into the replace field, at which point, the entire filename disappeared, leaving in it's place a period.

Here's the current filename:
SC3369-02 - God Bless The U- - S.A. - American Idol Finalists .cdg - .S.A. - American Idol Finalists.mp3
Here's the result I'm after:
SC3369-02 - God Bless The U.S.A. - American Idol Finalists.mp3

Here's the expression that worked in 'The Regex Coach':
Regular expression:
- - (.+)- \.
Replacement string:

Worked perfectly in the Coach, not at all (or too well, depending on P.O.V. - what am I missing?
tinmanjim

Re: Different results between BRU and The Regex Coach

Postby Glenn » Fri Oct 07, 2011 8:14 am

A couple of observations:
1 - It looks like the first and second filenames differ more than just replacing the 2 dashes with a period. The first one appears to be 2 filenames end to end with another extension in the middle.I assume this is just a copy oversight.
2 - There is a space after the second dash before the letter which follows. This will have to be removed to match the result you say you want.