problem maniuplating the "date created" field

Post any Bulk Rename Utility support requirements here. Open to all registered users.

problem maniuplating the "date created" field

Postby FastFreddy » Mon Jan 05, 2009 1:20 am

I'm a newbie to this product, so there is apt to be a simple answer to the following. I tried but could not figure out how to get either the EXIF or the timestamp options to work, so that I could change the date created field to the date taken value. I first renamed the file (as the manual advises). Then I tried using Timestamp option to get replace the date created info with the date taken info (this data seems to be valid and is readable within BRU with a right click on the filename. I ended up getting a strange result (date taken was 12/31/1969 - no where near correct!) I had the EXIF option ticked before running the timestamp option. What did I do wrong - should I not have seen the date taken info appear in the date created field of the main screen?
FastFreddy

Re: problem maniuplating the "date created" field

Postby jimwillsher » Mon Jan 05, 2009 8:22 am

If the Date Taken column is blank then BRU has ben unable to extract the EXIF data from your file. it is therefore defaulting to the Epoch (01/0/1970, or in your case a few minutes or hours earlier, depending upon your time zone).

Are you using JPEG files or a different format, and have you edited these files in a different program?

Jim
jimwillsher

Postby FastFreddy » Tue Jan 06, 2009 5:20 pm