Date Taken Original Not Showing Correct Value

Post any Bulk Rename Utility support requirements here. Open to all registered users.

Date Taken Original Not Showing Correct Value

Postby daddycool » Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:38 am

Hi, and i'm new to the tool - have downloaded as was looking for a tool that would allow me to rename photo files (JPG's) quickly, and especially using the date taken EXIF attribute - however, I have just tried using it and found that the date taken value shown in the dialogue is incorrect - it appears to be showing the date created or date modified value - for example, if I look look at the properties of the file using Windows, the EXIF information shows the date taken value as 28/05/2009 07:15, the same file has a date created value of 10/12/2009 10:23 and date modified as same - i suspect this is due to some coding validation within the tool that is checking if the date created value is later than the EXIF date taken value and in that instance, is using the date created value instead of the EXIF - it is of course a valid scenario (due to copying of files) have a created date later than EXIF, as EXIF info is retained during a copy, so I am interested to know if there is a fix for this being planned in a new version of the tool?
I have to say, having had a play around anyway, the tool does seem to an excellent tool and exactly what i'm looking for, if only I could get it to display the correct date taken values - you may have guessed that I would like to sequence the photo's by date taken.
thanks for any info anyone can provide
daddycool

Re: Date Taken Original Not Showing Correct Value

Postby guest » Sun Dec 27, 2009 10:25 pm

Did you find a solution? I have the same problem.

Postby daddycool » Tue Dec 29, 2009 6:06 pm