Autonumber and the 37/38 for letters instead of numbers

Post any Bulk Rename Command support requirements here. Open to all registered users.

Autonumber and the 37/38 for letters instead of numbers

Postby Dakee » Mon Aug 12, 2013 6:15 pm

Dear all,

first of all - a great tool. wow - im impressed.
I have to use the command line tool for a scheduled task.
To have the right sort order i want to add letters instead of numbers.

when i use /AUTONUMBER:1:1:S:-:37:3 and /NoDUPE it generates AAA to AAZ for the first 26 Files - but then it starts with AAA-1 instead of ABA ACA ADA etc...
The Application does fine.
Am i missing somthing?


Thank you very much for your help

Regards,

Christian
Dakee
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 6:09 pm

Re: Autonumber and the 37/38 for letters instead of numbers

Postby Admin » Mon Aug 12, 2013 11:47 pm

hmm, I think it could be an in-congruence between the two programs :?:
Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1484
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 8:39 pm

Base37/38 padding workaround

Postby truth » Tue Aug 13, 2013 3:05 am

Command-line version doesnt fully support padding with Base37/38 numbering
As a workaround, specify 27 as your Start-Char:
/autonumber:27:1:S:-:37:3
truth
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2013 3:39 am
Location: Earth, OrionArm, MilkyWay

Re: Autonumber and the 37/38 for letters instead of numbers

Postby Dakee » Tue Aug 13, 2013 12:50 pm

It looks like the workaround works...:-)

Thank you all for your help...
Dakee
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 6:09 pm

Re: Base37/38 padding workaround

Postby plesau » Sat Jul 23, 2016 3:34 pm

truth wrote:Command-line version doesnt fully support padding with Base37/38 numbering
As a workaround, specify 27 as your Start-Char:
/autonumber:27:1:S:-:37:3


Hi, guys,

I want to rename my files With a prefix AAA, AAB, AAC etc.
Is this the correct command /autonumber:27:1:S:-:37:3 ?

Where do I enter it?


Cheers
plesau
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2016 3:32 pm

Re: Autonumber and the 37/38 for letters instead of numbers

Postby therube » Sat Jul 23, 2016 5:19 pm

Command line.
Though you want a Prefix & not a Suffix, so you need to s/P/S/.

Code: Select all
C:\RENAME\Bulk Rename Command\brc32.exe   /DIR:.  /AUTONUMBER:1:1:P:-:37:3


And then confirm its returning the results you want prior to actually effecting the changes.

Adjust the path to brc32.exe & the directory (I have it set to the current, "." directory) as needed.
If you don't need the command-line, use the GUI to do the same, 10:Numbering.
therube
 
Posts: 347
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: Autonumber and the 37/38 for letters instead of numbers

Postby plesau » Sat Jul 23, 2016 5:47 pm

therube wrote:Command line.
Though you want a Prefix & not a Suffix, so you need to s/P/S/.

Code: Select all
C:\RENAME\Bulk Rename Command\brc32.exe   /DIR:.  /AUTONUMBER:1:1:P:-:37:3


And then confirm its returning the results you want prior to actually effecting the changes.

Adjust the path to brc32.exe & the directory (I have it set to the current, "." directory) as needed.
If you don't need the command-line, use the GUI to do the same, 10:Numbering.


Ok. I installed BRC. Now where I am supposed enter the command line? :roll:

EDIT: Finally. I got it. Thanks a lot :D
plesau
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2016 3:32 pm


Return to BRC Support