use system font as software font

Would you like Bulk Rename Utility to offer new functionality? Post your comments here!

use system font as software font

Postby WanderMax » Sun Jan 17, 2016 12:53 pm

Hi
Could you please use system font as the software dafault font?
The font in current version 3.0 is not that good, not smooth, I think.

PS: Could you add unicode characters support in Regex?
Thanks
WanderMax
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 9:15 am

Re: use system font as software font

Postby Admin » Mon Jan 18, 2016 12:58 am

Hi,

Could you please use system font as the software dafault font?
The font in current version 3.0 is not that good, not smooth, I think.


thanks for the feedback, we will look into that.

PS: Could you add unicode characters support in Regex?


That is supported in version 3 (or newer)

Thanks
Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1483
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 8:39 pm

Re: use system font as software font

Postby WanderMax » Mon Jan 18, 2016 3:08 am

Admin wrote:Hi,

Could you please use system font as the software dafault font?
The font in current version 3.0 is not that good, not smooth, I think.


thanks for the feedback, we will look into that.

PS: Could you add unicode characters support in Regex?


That is supported in version 3 (or newer)

Thanks



OK , system font in the main UI looks smooth, thanks.
And the Unicode support in the Regex means that it can support Japanese characters ?

Moreover, any plan to support multi-language like the .lang or .ini files?
WanderMax
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 9:15 am

Re: use system font as software font

Postby WanderMax » Thu Feb 04, 2016 11:06 am

Admin wrote:Hi,

Could you please use system font as the software dafault font?
The font in current version 3.0 is not that good, not smooth, I think.


thanks for the feedback, we will look into that.

PS: Could you add unicode characters support in Regex?


That is supported in version 3 (or newer)

Thanks


Any good news?
And my previous reply?
WanderMax
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 9:15 am

Re: PLEASE add option to change Font Size !!

Postby Blazer3030 » Sun Feb 07, 2016 6:14 am

I have used Batch Rename Utility for years and love it. My only complaint is it has always had NO option to adjust the actual font size. As a old man (67) I have eye issues and the font in the interface is too small for me to read easily, as it is for MILLIONS of other users of the free home version. In this age of Large monitors and higher resolutions which started years ago, one of the main user friendly options of any software is the ability to adjust the font size for easier reading, and Bulk Rename Utility has NEVER had this. I have a 32" monitor with 1920 x 1080 resolution, and there are many with a lot higher resolutions & bigger monitors. I have to lean in to about 12" from monitor to read anything on the interface (just like this small type webpage) and that makes my eyes really bother me being that close. I have heard from several other avid users of this software in the past that they actually quit using it and uninstalled for this very reason. PLEASE, PLEASE add this option & release an update to incorporate it...
John Bollier
blazer3030@gmail.com
Blazer3030
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 9:17 pm

Re: use system font as software font

Postby Admin » Sun Feb 07, 2016 7:41 am

Hi , BRU does not have the option to increase font size , but did you try increasing DPI in Windows ? That will make all fonts larger and more readable. thanks
Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1483
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 8:39 pm

Re: use system font as software font

Postby umbenena » Tue Feb 09, 2016 11:11 am

Hi, I fully agree to Blazers wish! Im older too, and the font size really is much too small for me. Your suggestion to increase DPI in windows would destroy ALL other font configuration in dozens of programs! So this is no work around. Is it such a problem or lots of work, to add that resize-feature? Maybe you could just add some fixed sizes, from which to chose, if that makes it simpler to program. Thanks for thinking about it.
umbenena
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 11:01 am

Re: use system font as software font

Postby bsmith » Sun Feb 21, 2016 10:51 pm

I'd like to chime in and request some kind of support for setting the font size. The utility is fantastic, but the font size makes it frustrating to use. As a reference, here is a comparison of Bulk Rename Utility's font vs. the font that my system is set to:

Image

Quite a difference! I'm guessing those involved with developing Bulk Rename Utility are young folks with great eyes who don't know the pain of those of us with presbyopia. Ohh, your turn will come, you whippersnappers. :wink:
bsmith
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 10:39 pm

Re: use system font as software font

Postby pstrg » Sat Jul 29, 2017 3:53 pm

Would like to back bsmith's complaint.
The font used for items listing and for filling fields is too small and low definition, thus making characters like ( ) [ ] { } hard to distinguish.
It happens that such characters are quite often found in regular expressions which, as we know, have a tendency to be complicated.

Perhaps, instead of using system font, the possibility to choose another, or a bigger, font would be quite an improvement.
Every time I have to enter a regular expression it's a struggle.

p.s. The utility is fantastic indeed.
pstrg
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 3:41 pm


Return to Suggestions