How do I replace first period (.) with a space

Bulk Rename Utility How-To's

How do I replace first period (.) with a space

Postby guiri » Sun Oct 20, 2019 4:47 pm

First, thanks for cool software. This is the one with the most options and frankly to me, the easiest to use.

I would like to know if I can set it to rename files that have a period (.) after the first word and replace it with a space. However, the first word and length varies.

For instance

This.needs.to.change
There.is.this.option etc.

However, I only want to change the period after the FIRST word or it will mess up my file extensions. Ie. .avi. .exe, etc.

Thanks and please explain as if I'm slow 'cause I kinda am.

George
guiri
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2019 4:42 pm

Re: How do I

Postby therube » Mon Oct 21, 2019 9:37 am

So long as you do not have, Renaming Options -> File/Folder Extensions -> Rename File Extensions As Being Part of File Name, enabled...


3:Replace
Code: Select all
Replace:  . (dot)
With:   <space>

would remove all the dots.

or

1:RegEx
Code: Select all
Match:  (\w+)\.(.*)
Replace:  \1 \2

to match only the first.
therube
 
Posts: 683
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: How do I replace first period (.) with a space

Postby guiri » Fri Nov 01, 2019 11:10 am

Sorry for late reply but something happened with my browser.

I'll see if I can figure out your suggestion and try it out. Like I may have mentioned. I have a huge reading comprehension problem
which basically makes me a dumbass.

Thanks again

George
guiri
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2019 4:42 pm

Re: How do I replace first period (.) with a space

Postby guiri » Sat Nov 09, 2019 3:34 am

Ok, I entered the info but the RENAME button is greyed out...?

George
guiri
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2019 4:42 pm

Re: How do I replace first period (.) with a space

Postby guiri » Sat Nov 09, 2019 4:05 am

It tells me that there are no files that need renaming but I have put a few files in a separate folder and I have highlighted those files
but nothing...?

Thanks
guiri
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2019 4:42 pm

Re: How do I replace first period (.) with a space

Postby guiri » Sat Nov 09, 2019 8:54 am

guiri wrote:It tells me that there are no files that need renaming but I have put a few files in a separate folder and I have highlighted those files
but nothing...?

Thanks


http://extuff.biz/images/Bulk-Renamer-Capture.jpg
guiri
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2019 4:42 pm

Re: How do I replace first period (.) with a space

Postby therube » Sat Nov 09, 2019 3:30 pm

You don't have any files actually selected.
They are there in the list, but not selected.

Look at the very bottom, status bar, (0 selected).

Select the ones you want to change (or Ctrl+A to select them all) & see if things don't change.


Also, you need to resize your columns ;-).
therube
 
Posts: 683
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: How do I replace first period (.) with a space

Postby guiri » Sun Nov 10, 2019 11:54 am

Actually I did but I must have clicked on something to unselect them right before the screen capture.

HEre it is:
[url]
extuff.biz/images/Bulk-Renamer-2.jpg[/url]
guiri
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2019 4:42 pm

Re: How do I replace first period (.) with a space

Postby guiri » Sun Nov 10, 2019 11:55 am

guiri wrote:Actually I did but I must have clicked on something to unselect them right before the screen capture.

HEre it is:
[url]
extuff.biz/images/Bulk-Renamer-2.jpg[/url]


[img]extuff.biz/images/Bulk-Renamer-2.jpg[/img]
guiri
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2019 4:42 pm

Re: How do I replace first period (.) with a space

Postby therube » Mon Nov 11, 2019 1:42 pm

Oh.

You have typed, literally, 'Match:' and 'Replace:' into the Match and Replace fields & they should not be there, only the actual "code", so:

(\w+)\.(.*)
\1 \2

(sans any opening spaces)
therube
 
Posts: 683
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 6:23 pm


Return to How-To