How to reformat existing date in a filename?

Bulk Rename Utility How-To's

How to reformat existing date in a filename?

Postby SteverinoLA » Tue Aug 30, 2022 11:21 pm

I have a bunch of files with dates in the file name but not in the format or location I need. I've spend a few hours w/this app but haven't figure out how to do it, probably b/c I'm a regular expression noob.

Here are some sample files:

03.15.22 Executive Board Meeting.pdf
    General Session Agenda - 02.15.22.pdf

I want to rename all of these so that that are formatted like this:

2022-03-15 Executive Board Meeting.pdf

Can this be done using this pretty amzing app?

Thanks,
Steve
SteverinoLA

Reformat yy.mm.dd --> 20yy-mm-dd and move to front

Postby Luuk » Wed Aug 31, 2022 1:55 am

Greetings Steve. With the 1 example new-name, Im just assuming that 1 "space" should replace any date-separators for the new-names?
Im also assuming dates like yy-mm-dd with "yy" ranging 00-29, and the names always using either spaces or -'s as the date separators?
So first to put a checkmark inside for "v2", then the "Match" and "Replace" could be like...

(?:(?<=^)|(?<=[- ]))(\d\d)\.(\d\d)\.([012]\d)(?=[- ]|$)(?X)(.*)(?<![- ])[- ]*:(20\d\d-\d\d-\d\d)[- ]*(?X)( $| (?= ))
:20$3-$1-$2(?X)$2 $1 (?X)

03.15.22 Executive Board Meetin.txt ================> 2022-03-15 Executive Board Meetin.txt
General Session Agenda - 02.15.22.txt ===============> 2022-02-15 General Session Agenda.txt
General Session Agenda - 02.15.22 - SomeName.txt ===> 2022-02-15 General Session Agenda SomeName.txt
Luuk

Reformat mm.dd.yy --> 20yy-mm-dd and move to front

Postby Luuk » Wed Aug 31, 2022 7:06 am

Many apologies for the typo, the title should have said mm.dd.yy --> 20yy-mm-dd, so now I can find it easier.
Luuk

Re: How to reformat existing date in a filename?

Postby Panchdara » Thu Sep 01, 2022 7:06 am

Luuk, that is some RegEx.... where can one find out about the $X directive? I tried in RegEx Buddy and it isn't happy ????

Thanks!