Two suggestions

Would you like Bulk Rename Utility to offer new functionality? Post your comments here!

Two suggestions

Postby JWellbelove » Tue Apr 05, 2005 11:30 am

Two suggestions

1. Grey out option that have been disabled.
2. Have a simple/expert inteface choice
JWellbelove
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 10:37 am

Postby Admin » Tue Apr 05, 2005 2:34 pm

Hi,

Suggestion 1 - good idea, I'll see if this is something which can be done easily

Suggestion 2 - nice idea also, but messy to implement. the screen layout does not lend itself to changes like this, as it would mean redrawing the layout "on the fly", taking into account screen resolution etc.


I'll see what I can do with Suggestion 1 though.


Jim
Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1502
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 8:39 pm

Postby JWellbelove » Tue Apr 05, 2005 7:07 pm

If you add an ON_COMMAND line to the message map for each enable checkbox you can then enable/disable the options when clicked.

I've written MFC applications that build different data entry dialogs on the fly, depending on the user access level; and yes I agree, it's not a trivial task!
JWellbelove
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 10:37 am

Why

Postby clock345 » Fri Nov 11, 2005 3:51 am

If you add an ON_COMMAND line to the message map for each enable checkbox you can then enable/disable the options when clicked.


And why the hell would one want to do something like that...please tell me....
clock345
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 11:37 am

Re: Why

Postby JWellbelove » Fri Nov 11, 2005 6:45 pm

clock345 wrote:
And why the hell would one want to do something like that...please tell me....


That's how you detect a click on a checkbox in MFC, which you need to do if you want to enable/disable controls associated with the option enable/disable.
If you're not using MFC then the code will be a little different, but the basic idea will be the same.
JWellbelove
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 10:37 am

Postby Admin » Fri Nov 11, 2005 7:30 pm

Yes, I'm using MFC. But I've not implemented this as I think it would ba pain.

For example, at the moment you can type into one of the boxes and the dropdowns change immediately. it would be a hassle to have to untick a box first.


Jim
Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1502
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 8:39 pm

Re: Why

Postby Stefan » Sat Nov 12, 2005 5:37 pm

JWellbelove wrote:
clock345 wrote:
And why the hell would one want to do something like that...please tell me....


That's how you detect a click on a checkbox in MFC, which you need to do if you want to enable/disable controls associated with the option enable/disable.
If you're not using MFC then the code will be a little different, but the basic idea will be the same.


:D
This was not really an question.
"clock345" is just an bot to spam with his sig.
Stefan
 
Posts: 736
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 7:46 pm
Location: Germany, EU


Return to Suggestions