BRU options from a text file

Would you like Bulk Rename Utility to offer new functionality? Post your comments here!

BRU options from a text file

Postby mwrose4 » Sun Mar 01, 2020 5:18 pm

Hello all,

I am new to this utility and so far absolutely LOVE it. I have thousands of Karaoke files acquired from many sources and am undertaking the task of cleaning those up, renaming them to a standard naming convention and removing duplicates.

What I have found is some sources have the source name of the karaoke file inside the name, in a different place than where I want it.

3 Doors Down - Here Without You [SC Karaoke].cdg - [SC KAraoke] is the source for this file.

My format to use is Source - Track - Artist - Title

So, I have managed to figure out in BRU (3.0, just downloaded 3.3 today), to use regular expressions to find the specific files I want to change.

Filters (12) RegEx is [SC Karaoke]
My Add(7) (Prefix) is SC Karaoke - - (since this file has no track number, I am adding another blank and delimiter)
My Remove (5) Chars is [SC Karaoke]

This changes

3 Doors Down - Here Without You [SC Karaoke].cdg

to

SC Karaoke - - 3 Doors Down - Here Without You.cdg

This worked like a champ. However, the source I got this particular set of files from has about 40 different "Sources" in the file listings. This is only one example, there are many others like this. I know I can manually set this each time, but I would love to be able to import a text file or CSV file individual settings for each option. This would allow me to more quickly and efficiently make changes.

Maybe something like:

(5)(5) [SC Karaoke], (7)(1) SC Karaoke, (12)(2) [SC Karaoke]
0r
(5)(Chars) [SC Karaoke], (7)(Prefix) SC Karaoke, (12)(RegEx) [SC Karaoke]

My format is:

(5) the number listed in the options for Remove
(5) the 5th option in the Remove section or it could be "Chars" for the Chars option
Text to be removed (mine includes the [] but not sure if you would have to escape those or not.)