autofill in 'jump to path...' [Ctr+J] option

Would you like Bulk Rename Utility to offer new functionality? Post your comments here!

autofill in 'jump to path...' [Ctr+J] option

Postby Dragster » Thu Sep 17, 2020 3:27 pm

I use XYexplorer. And its always a struggle to get BRU in the contextmenu to open at active location.
Most of the time it doesnt work out. And its an action often used.

Now most file explorers have a hotkey or button to copy 'Path' to clipboard..

So when using the action 'jump to path...' or 'Ctr+J' it would be nice that BRU automatically pasts in the last entry from clipboard.
Better jet maybe use it to create a button.
I mean, its logical to use this option right after you have copied the 'Path'.
Dragster
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 4:31 pm

Re: autofill in 'jump to path...' [Ctr+J] option

Postby therube » Thu Sep 17, 2020 4:22 pm

(Just my opinion...

A download manager, & it finds a URL in the clipboard, yeah, I can see a benefit to it autofill that by default.

Here (& I never really realized Ctrl+J even existed), Ctrl+J & Shift+INS (or Ctrl+J Ctrl+V), two keystrokes in total...

But then I almost never use "paths", or directory trees, in BRU, rather, most often, drag & drop.


Plus... given that you're the Dragster, you should be drag&drop'n too ;-).)
therube
 
Posts: 1022
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: autofill in 'jump to path...' [Ctr+J] option

Postby Dragster » Thu Sep 17, 2020 5:31 pm

Sorry, cant follow. Think it isnt correct.

Check your proposed actions
Dragster
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 4:31 pm

Re: autofill in 'jump to path...' [Ctr+J] option

Postby Luuk » Fri Sep 18, 2020 6:35 am

Im not like this, because people copy many things that are not 'Path' so if we [Ctrt+J] it can signal the error. Also the XYExplorer can let you save scripts like "Bulk Rename Utility.exe" "<curpath>" so then Bulk Rename Utility opens path without the [Ctrl-J].
Luuk
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2020 10:58 pm

Re: autofill in 'jump to path...' [Ctr+J] option

Postby Admin » Fri Sep 18, 2020 7:32 am

Does XYexplorer support the 'Bulk Rename Here' shortcut for the right-click menu? With the latest version that should work?
Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2058
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 8:39 pm

Re: autofill in 'jump to path...' [Ctr+J] option

Postby Dragster » Fri Sep 18, 2020 9:15 am

It has worked edtions ago, but at certain point it became an issue.
And I gave up at one point.
Dragster
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 4:31 pm

Re: autofill in 'jump to path...' [Ctr+J] option

Postby Admin » Fri Sep 18, 2020 9:27 am

Did you try the latest version? There were some improvements done. If it does not work, let us know what does not work, please. thanks
Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2058
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 8:39 pm

Re: autofill in 'jump to path...' [Ctr+J] option

Postby Dragster » Fri Sep 18, 2020 8:17 pm

Admin wrote:Did you try the latest version? There were some improvements done. If it does not work, let us know what does not work, please. thanks


Damned. It works. Also, I activated the option: show 64-bit context menu

The context menu now shows: 'Bulk rename Here'

Thx :D
Dragster
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 4:31 pm


Return to Suggestions