repositioning words in filenames

Post any Bulk Rename Utility support requirements here. Open to all registered users.

repositioning words in filenames

Postby stulinds » Tue Jan 26, 2010 2:43 pm

I am a professional botanist and have several hundred photographs of plants labelled in this general format:

Middleton et al 4614 Schizaea dichotoma PK_4766.JPG

The "Middleton et al" (= the name of the plant collector) is constant in all file names, the number after that (= the plant's collection number) is variable but is always 4 digits, and the photo identifier (in this case PK_4766) is always 2 letters (= photographer's initials) and 4 digits (= the photo number) joined by an underscore. The 2 words (always 2 words but always different and of variable lengths) between the plant's collection number and the photograph identifier represent the Latin name of the plant and it is this that I would like to move (but do not know how to do this efficiently).

I would like all plant names to be moved from their current position to the beginning of the file name. Everything else will stay the same.

So the above file name would become:

Schizaea dichotoma Middleton et al 4614 PK_4766.JPG

How can this be done using BRU?
stulinds

Re: repositioning words in filenames

Postby Stefan » Tue Jan 26, 2010 8:51 pm

stulinds wrote:I am a professional botanist and have several hundred photographs of plants labelled in this general format: