Why is my list window so small in v3

Post any Bulk Rename Utility support requirements here. Open to all registered users.

Why is my list window so small in v3

Postby Emerkamp » Sun May 22, 2016 7:40 am

Why is my list window so small in bru v3.. "Height"

Reason i ask is because I could only fit 11 items in my window, unlike the post I seen here: The Last post
http://www.bulkrenameutility.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=2993
Where it looks like he can fit 50 or more items. This is 1 of the main issues I went back to v2. "That and the missing double click rename"
Emerkamp
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 2:35 pm

Re: Why is my list window so small in v3

Postby Admin » Mon May 23, 2016 2:02 am

It's due to screen size. We will need to add the ability to hide some controls to make the list bigger on smaller screens.
Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1505
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 8:39 pm

Re: Why is my list window so small in v3

Postby Emerkamp » Thu Jun 02, 2016 7:47 am

Wow,, He must be using a really big screen then.
I'm on a 32" widescreen at 16:9 res. and only get to show like 7 files.

Anyways, i'm fine with using v.2 until you get some time to figure something out for the gui.

For now I think just moving some things around and shrinking some boxes could go a long way.

Some other ideas:
- Detachable boxes, ( Like in QT or delphi ) Then maybe users could skin it too
- Hideable boxes, ( like in another renamer I won't mention here ) looks like he uses java maybe. I don't like java gui's but it works..
- Pulldowns, ( I'd be carefull, we don't want lots of extra clicks ) This would be awesome for a history though.
- Resizable boxes, ( With scroll bars when shrunk )
- Resizable Top/bottom Sections, ( Top and bottom Split can be dragged to hide bottom most controls)

Just some ideas I had. Thanks for all your work.....
Emerkamp
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 2:35 pm

Re: Why is my list window so small in v3

Postby Admin » Fri Jun 03, 2016 3:19 am

Hi

I'm on a 32" widescreen at 16:9 res. and only get to show like 7 files


what DPI ?

Yes, we will need to make changes to the BRU interface to be able to resize or hide controls
Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1505
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 8:39 pm

Re: Why is my list window so small in v3

Postby Emerkamp » Fri Jun 03, 2016 4:38 am

what DPI ?


I'm really bad at math, but it's a 32" 1360x768.. 16:9 ratio
LG widescreen

I Think it's 49-50 ish,

I can send a screen shot of bru if that helps..
Emerkamp
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 2:35 pm

Re: Why is my list window so small in v3

Postby therube » Fri Jun 03, 2016 4:43 am

32" here.
1920 x 1080, 100%, & I can fit 24 files.


(One suggestion I was going to make was the ability to change the font sizes - in the rename fields more so then on the file name list.
Like when I type in the RegEx box in particular, something like, ".*", & then I start making changes in there, its like, wow, I just can't see it (& it gets worse, eyesight, every year ;-)).)
therube
 
Posts: 394
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: Why is my list window so small in v3

Postby therube » Fri Jun 03, 2016 4:46 am

32" 1360x768

If I change to that resolution, I then fit only 6.
Though with that, I can see everything very well.
therube
 
Posts: 394
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: Why is my list window so small in v3

Postby Admin » Fri Jun 03, 2016 4:49 am

Thanks, try clicking on F8 when you are editing the RegEx(1) field, it should open a popup window with larger font.
Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1505
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 8:39 pm

Re: Why is my list window so small in v3

Postby therube » Fri Jun 03, 2016 4:52 am

Oh, cool.
therube
 
Posts: 394
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: Why is my list window so small in v3

Postby Emerkamp » Fri Jun 03, 2016 4:55 am

therube wrote:
32" 1360x768

If I change to that resolution, I then fit only 6.
Though with that, I can see everything very well.


That's why i use that resolution. That and my screen is not right up in my face like a regular Desktop setup. About 7-8 feet away..

I still have some trouble seeing dots and stuff in the regex box though.

Thanks, try clicking on F8

I also forgot about this ... Thanks also
Last edited by Emerkamp on Fri Jun 03, 2016 4:57 am, edited 1 time in total.
Emerkamp
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 2:35 pm

Re: Why is my list window so small in v3

Postby Admin » Fri Jun 03, 2016 4:56 am

Try clicking on F8 when you are editing the RegEx(1) field, it should zoom in.
Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1505
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 8:39 pm

Re: Why is my list window so small in v3

Postby therube » Fri Jun 03, 2016 3:09 pm

As a comparison, I'm on a 24" monitor now, running at 1280x768, 100%, & I can only see 6 lines in the file list.
(Native resolution is 1920x1080, but that is way too small for me on this monitor.)


And I might add, using BRU on my 24" is a much more pleasant experience because (at 1280x768 resolution) it (the BRU window, texts, & text boxes) is much larger then on my bigger 32" running at 1920x1080 - even if the file list is far more constrained.

So what I'm saying is that I would give up file list space for bigger overall font sizes, which makes it easier for me to read (see).
therube
 
Posts: 394
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: Why is my list window so small in v3

Postby gottcha3 » Sun Aug 21, 2016 2:45 am

I just finally installed the v3 update. I will have to go back because I hate how small the list window is. Is this ever going to be changed so we can resize it?
gottcha3
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 2:42 am

Re: Why is my list window so small in v3

Postby foxwiz » Fri Aug 26, 2016 1:35 am

Let's see if I got this. Messages saying the screen is too small since May and it is now August. Nothing fixed. I tried to register with a yahoo account but it wasn't allowed.

What is going on here? Why does it take months to fix a major issue with the GUI? Also, why can't a yahoo address be valid?
foxwiz
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2016 1:32 am

Re: Why is my list window so small in v3

Postby gottcha3 » Sat Aug 12, 2017 9:18 pm

I uninstalled version 3 when it first came out because the font is TOO SMALL and there is no option to increase the size. And the file list window is way too small too.

I just reinstalled it and seems it is still the same problem. I have used this program for years and even paid for it and it seems like no one seems to care about this problem. Why won't BRU listen to their customers and provide better support? I'm still upset about this problem!!
gottcha3
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 2:42 am

Next

Return to BRU Support


cron