Duplicate file names

Post any Bulk Rename Utility support requirements here. Open to all registered users.

Duplicate file names

Postby amacfarlane » Tue May 17, 2005 7:06 pm

Hello,

I've been searching around for batch renaming utility and this one looks like it will work for me. I'm a sound designer and I'm using it to rename SFX libraries.

I have one problem. I'm truncating these file names to be able to work with them in an audio app called Pro Tools. My problem is that after I apply my criteria a lot of the files have duplicate names. Is there a way to use the numbering feature so that it will only number duplicate file names? Maybe there's another way to do this?

Alex MacFarlane
amacfarlane

Postby Guest » Tue May 17, 2005 10:26 pm

Hi Alex,

Yes and no. You can do this, but probably nto the way you want it to work. You can tell it to only "break" on a change of character after the Nth position. So if you are renaming and you end up with duplicates after the 8th character you can tell it to append the autonumber at this place. However, it will only work if know that the duplictes occur after character 8 etc.

For example, assume the following filenames:

AAA1.txt
AAA2.txt
AAA3.txt

if you were yo tell BRU to remove digits you would end up with duplicates, but you could tell it to "break" after position 4, and this would work.

Give it a whirl and let me know how you get on.

Jim

Well Done

Postby clock345 » Fri Nov 11, 2005 3:49 am

:(! nice :))
clock345

Postby Admin » Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:29 pm

Hi,

For anyone still interested in this thread, I have now implemented this feature in the latest beta. If a duplicate filename is encountered, the software will apend a suffix of _1 and try again, then _2, _3 etc.

Jim
Admin
Site Admin

Postby Stefan » Wed Jan 04, 2006 4:49 pm

Admin wrote:Hi,