Rename Folder Without Losing It's Data

Post any Bulk Rename Utility support requirements here. Open to all registered users.

Rename Folder Without Losing It's Data

Postby stelle » Mon Feb 20, 2017 12:10 am

Hello everyone ! I might be doing this wrong, so please correct me.

Whenever i rename folder using "Remove" and "Numbering" command, because i need to remove some numbers from the beginning of folder name and add some at the end, everything goes smooth and command works as desired. The only problem i have is, i'm losing PDF files that are located inside the folder. Is there a way to keep files inside re-named folder (PDF files in this case) or files are auto-deleted when you attempt to rename a folder ? I have tried with checking/unchecking "Copy not Move", but same thing happens - files are deleted.
stelle
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 12:04 am

Re: Rename Folder Without Losing It's Data

Postby Emerkamp » Mon Feb 20, 2017 4:50 am

Hello:

Under, Selections: (12) do you have only folders ticked for the filter, and files un-ticked.
This shouldn't touch the files inside the folders you have selected for rename.
Emerkamp
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 2:35 pm

Re: Rename Folder Without Losing It's Data

Postby stelle » Mon Feb 20, 2017 10:32 am

Folders and Files ticked, while there's "*" in "Mask" tab.
stelle
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 12:04 am

Re: Rename Folder Without Losing It's Data

Postby Emerkamp » Mon Feb 20, 2017 1:14 pm

stelle wrote:Folders and Files ticked, while there's "*" in "Mask" tab.


You need Files Un-Ticked, if you want files to be untouched. The contents inside will move with the folder when renaming.

I would backup first also, just in case...
Emerkamp
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 2:35 pm

Re: Rename Folder Without Losing It's Data

Postby stelle » Tue Feb 21, 2017 11:00 am

Thanks for the answer, i have tried this option and it doesn't work, folders are re-named and empty again. I have also tried with both "Copy not Move" ticked and un-ticked, results are same - renamed folders with no files in them.
stelle
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 12:04 am

Re: Rename Folder Without Losing It's Data

Postby stelle » Tue Feb 21, 2017 11:03 am

Maybe this screenshot will help Image

Heres the link to full size:http://i.imgur.com/pLCDPNl.png



So i need to delete those first numbers and add numbers with the dash at the end (for which i have ticked "Remove", "Add" and "Numbering".
stelle
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 12:04 am

Re: Rename Folder Without Losing It's Data

Postby Emerkamp » Tue Feb 21, 2017 3:32 pm

Hi:

Ok, So I'm using the old version because the new version is missing many old features. I tested this and it works fine for me.

I didn't think this would change, but tested this on the newer v3. I got the same results as you did above. :(
If I rename folders in place, with out moving, things inside are kept, but moving folders looses everything inside.

Not sure if this is by design or what, but it is really unwanted.
I guess we can't rename and move with newer version.

Sorry about the confusion...
Emerkamp
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 2:35 pm

Re: Rename Folder Without Losing It's Data

Postby stelle » Tue Feb 21, 2017 3:58 pm

No need to apologize, thanks for your help! Which version are you using ? I will try it with older versions then.
stelle
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 12:04 am

Re: Rename Folder Without Losing It's Data

Postby Emerkamp » Tue Feb 21, 2017 8:40 pm

Hi:

The about says v2.7.13.
I tried adding a prefix + the move option, Folders and all files inside were moved also. Interested to see if this works for you.

I would also check that you don't have any special or illegal letters in the filenames/path, or too long of filenames/path. I think the limit is 256 or something.
Emerkamp
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 2:35 pm

Re: Rename Folder Without Losing It's Data

Postby Admin » Tue Feb 21, 2017 11:56 pm

Hi Emerkamp,

What features are missing from version 3 that keep you on version 2.7.1.3 ?
We want to add them back in the software.

thanks!
Matt
Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1502
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 8:39 pm

Re: Rename Folder Without Losing It's Data

Postby Emerkamp » Wed Feb 22, 2017 6:00 am

Admin wrote:Hi Emerkamp,

What features are missing from version 3 that keep you on version 2.7.1.3 ?
We want to add them back in the software.

thanks!
Matt

Hello:
I've already made my request in the suggestions area and you've already acknowledged my request along with many other users.
just a few little things like:
-Slow double click to rename
-Bigger list view
-"On hover" scroll of the list without having to click and lose our selections. The old version is missing this too, but hope to see it in the update.
- I guess the above issue, I don't remember seeing this one come up yet.

I'm pretty sure you've seen everything and said you've added it to your todo list.
Just so you know, I have no problem using the old version, it still works great for me.

Thank you and Thanks for your interest..
Emerkamp
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 2:35 pm

Re: Rename Folder Without Losing It's Data

Postby therube » Wed Feb 22, 2017 8:56 pm

but moving folders looses everything inside.

Not sure if this is by design or what, but it is really unwanted

If that is what is happening, that is certainly a bug!
therube
 
Posts: 390
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 6:23 pm


Return to BRU Support