Missing some columns

Post any Bulk Rename Utility support requirements here. Open to all registered users.

Missing some columns

Postby jimsweetjim » Tue Mar 10, 2020 9:18 pm

Hi,

I'm a little baffled by something, and I hope someone can help.

I have version 2,7,1,2 installed on three different computers. (I tried the newer version, but I like the window layout better on 2,7,1,2) Anyway, on two of the computers the file list has all the columns, including Sub. Dir., Type, Size, Created, Modified, etc. On one computer, I only have these four columns in the file list:
Name
New Name
Modified
Size

The odd thing is that I used the exact same installer on all three computers. Two of the computers are only a couple months old. They are Asus brand with Windows 10. One of those Asus computers works fine and shows all columns. The other one only has the 4 columns listed above.

I've searched everywhere in the options for a place to turn on the other columns, and I can't find anything. Online I found a reference to a "List" item in the Options menu, but I don't have that in my options menu.

I also tried uninstalling and re-installing the program, but that didn't have any effect.

How can I turn on the other columns in the file list?
jimsweetjim
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2020 9:11 pm

Re: Missing some columns

Postby trm2 » Wed Mar 11, 2020 3:57 am

Well, you don't seem to be new at this but I will refer you anyway to the book Volume I available for free at
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=4743. The answer is in there but here it is
as well.

Right click on the column title bar (anywhere in the title bar - could be Name, New Name, etc.) - it brings up the column context menu - from there you can select and deselect
any columns you want to add.
trm2
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2020 12:47 pm

Re: Missing some columns

Postby jimsweetjim » Wed Mar 11, 2020 4:44 pm

Thanks for the suggestion about right-clicking on the column title bar. Are you sure that works in version 2,7,1,2 ? No context menu appears when I click the title bar in that version, even on the computers where all the columns are correctly shown. I don't have the newest version installed anywhere (because, as I said before I don't like the layout as much), so I can't try it in a newer version.

But in any case, I'm hoping to get the older version working correctly on the one computer where it doesn't work.
jimsweetjim
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2020 9:11 pm

Re: Missing some columns

Postby therube » Wed Mar 11, 2020 5:41 pm

What OS? And Service Pack?

> 2,7,1,2

Why not 2713?
(Hmm... was 2713 actually released?)

Maybe using an older version of VC runtimes (or similar)?

Right-click of the 'title' bar does not allow selecting columns in 2713.

Note that current versions offer F9 to enlarge (if too small)/collapse the file list (at the loss of displaying most renaming controls.
therube
 
Posts: 844
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: Missing some columns

Postby trm2 » Wed Mar 11, 2020 5:55 pm

I dug out v2.713 and you are right but most of the columns are there except for Exif and Id3 that were added in v3.x - use the horizontal scroll to see them.

Other than that - it may be time to upgrade.
trm2
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2020 12:47 pm

Re: Missing some columns

Postby jimsweetjim » Wed Mar 11, 2020 6:41 pm

Thanks so much for the time you took to experiment.

Yes, I initially upgraded to the latest version and I played around with the different F9 display settings. However, I still wasn't able to like it as much as the older layout. I don't remember the details, and I no longer have that newer version installed, but as I recall some fields seemed to be much longer than required, and other fields were shorter than they were before. I also felt like there was wasted space, at the cost of either losing file list lines, or rename options being displayed. Anyway, so that's why I was trying to stick with the earlier version. Maybe a future version will be more like the older version's layout. I'll keep my fingers crossed.

With respect to my current issue, it looks like I'll need to upgrade to the newer version on that one computer, since it mysteriously isn't working for me.

Thanks again for your help
jimsweetjim
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2020 9:11 pm

Re: Missing some columns

Postby trm2 » Wed Mar 11, 2020 7:22 pm

I agree with you on the physical differences. It is just a matter of getting used to it. As for the interface change that is
because they added 'Section #14' - had to reduce to allow room. You already know how to expand the windows, and use F8
to expand the data fields. But the newer version is a definite improvement - JavaScript alone - low $cost for that added
capability but even without that - EXif and Id3 support, full support of Windows file properties and I am not sure of this, but probably
an updated PCRE - current uses v7.5 - but again unsure. Already filed away v2.7x away so I can't verify.

Other than some menu changes there is not too much of a learning curve. I urge you to try the newer version again.

As for why the exact same program would not work the exact same way on one computer vs another given the same OS (version and build),
I have no idea. There should not be unless one is a laptop and one is a desktop - there may be columns that are getting cut off. If this is the case
go into your Windows settings and verify the display resolution - also while in there visit your scale and layout settings under Display. For my
desktop I have it at 125%, for the laptop it is 100%
trm2
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2020 12:47 pm

Re: Missing some columns

Postby Admin » Wed Mar 11, 2020 11:02 pm

In version 3 some new fields were added, e.g. Special (14). However also the capability to collapse them was added using Expand File List (Ctrl+F9) or Maximize File List (F9).
Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1818
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 8:39 pm


Return to BRU Support