[Invalid] Name: Remove - does not

Post any Bulk Rename Utility support requirements here. Open to all registered users.

[Invalid] Name: Remove - does not

Postby therube » Fri Mar 19, 2021 4:07 pm

Name: Remove - does not - for names like:

Code: Select all
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9

I would expect, want that the name be removed - entirely.
Instead, name is unchanged.
(This is in 3.4.3.0. Not sure offhand if it was like that in earlier versions, but I'm thinking it was not.)
Last edited by therube on Fri Mar 19, 2021 9:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
therube
 
Posts: 1025
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: Name: Remove - does not

Postby Luuk » Fri Mar 19, 2021 6:58 pm

Greeting therube! Im learn much from many of your postings and also in the manual too, so now maybe I can repay some help. The Name(2) is still removing, but without any extension, there is no characters for "New Name", so BRU is smart waiting for other options to invent a "New Name", because when "New Name" has not any characters, then BRU forbids renaming to nothing, because its not to be possible. Its like this also in the old versions.
Luuk
 
Posts: 324
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2020 10:58 pm

Re: Name: Remove - does not

Postby therube » Fri Mar 19, 2021 9:30 pm

Well, the intent is to remove the existing name - entirely.

And then..., after that, to replace it with other data.
So if I have a file named "9" & I want to remove that name, entirely.
Now the file is (not named). [That's fine - at this point.]
So I then I, 8:Autodate, Mode:Prefix, Type:Modified (Current).
Now, may file is named "120321".
Rename.

And that said...
therube
 
Posts: 1025
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: Name: Remove - does not

Postby therube » Fri Mar 19, 2021 9:34 pm

I'm now not able to duplicate the issue (where the Name was not removed) ?

(Maybe I mistakenly unchecked the "enabling" box for the rename item?
Either there is a bug, or that must be what I did. How do you like that!)
therube
 
Posts: 1025
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: [Invalid] Name: Remove - does not

Postby Luuk » Fri Mar 19, 2021 11:23 pm

Lol, yes Im also thinking it probably get unchecked, because this does make all the names without .extension just stay the same.
Like if someone used Name(2)-Remove and Extension(11)-Remove, but unchecks the rest, so then all the names just staying the same.
I often make this 'unchecked' mistake in the experiments, so then always clicking "Reset" to start over again.
Luuk
 
Posts: 324
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2020 10:58 pm


Return to BRU Support