BRC display incorrect Processing Folder

Post any Bulk Rename Command support requirements here. Open to all registered users.

BRC display incorrect Processing Folder

Postby Blackkatt » Tue Dec 03, 2013 1:16 pm

The issue!
Okey, it looks like this...
Code: Select all
C:\Users\Test\Desktop\iCMD.The.Man.DVDRip.XviD-PREVIEW>dir /b
CD1
CD2
iCMD The Man DVDRip XviD PREVIEW.nfo
ISCD title SPACE cd1.avi
ISCD-title-DASH-cd7.avi
ISCD-title-DASHDOT.cd8.avi
ISCD-title-FAIL.cd8.avi
ISCD-title.UPPERCASE.CD5.AVI
ISCD.title.DOT.cd2.avi
ISCDtitleDASHcd6.avi
ISCD_title_UNDERSCORE_cd3.avi
ISCD_title_UPPERCASE_CD4.AVI
NOCD title SPACE cd.avi
NOCD-title-DASH-cd.avi
NOCD-title-DASHDOT.cd.avi
NOCD.title.DOT.cd.avi
NOCDtitleDASHcd.avi
NOCD_title_UNDERSCORE_cd.avi
Some.Other.Unrellevent.Nfo.File-PREVIEW.nfo

Code: Select all
Processing Folder C:\Users\Test\Desktop\iCMD.The.Man.DVDRip.XviD-PREVIEW\

Processing Folder C:\Users\Test\Desktop\iCMD.The.Man.DVDRip.XviD-PREVIEW\CD1\
Filename iCMD.Origins.CD1.avi renamed to _RENAME_iCMD.Origins.CD1.avi

Processing Folder C:\Users\Test\Desktop\iCMD.The.Man.DVDRip.XviD-PREVIEW\CD2\
Filename iCMD.Origins.CD2.avi renamed to _RENAME_iCMD.Origins.CD2.avi <-- correct location
Filename ISCD title SPACE cd1.avi renamed to _RENAME_ISCD title SPACE cd1.avi <-- all from here are actually located in the root dir
Filename ISCD-title-DASH-cd7.avi renamed to _RENAME_ISCD-title-DASH-cd7.avi
Filename ISCD-title-DASHDOT.cd8.avi renamed to _RENAME_ISCD-title-DASHDOT.cd8.avi
Filename ISCD-title-FAIL.cd8.avi renamed to _RENAME_ISCD-title-FAIL.cd8.avi
Filename ISCD.title.DOT.cd2.avi renamed to _RENAME_ISCD.title.DOT.cd2.avi
Filename ISCD_title_UNDERSCORE_cd3.avi renamed to _RENAME_ISCD_title_UNDERSCORE_cd3.avi
Filename ISCDtitleDASHcd6.avi renamed to _RENAME_ISCDtitleDASHcd6.avi
Filename NOCD title SPACE cd.avi requires no changes
Filename NOCD-title-DASH-cd.avi requires no changes
Filename NOCD-title-DASHDOT.cd.avi requires no changes
Filename NOCD.title.DOT.cd.avi requires no changes
Filename NOCD_title_UNDERSCORE_cd.avi requires no changes
Filename NOCDtitleDASHcd.avi requires no changes

So it seems to be that the report for the root folder is puched to the report for CD2


What I think cases the issue!

So my best guess for this problem is that BRC is bizzy finishing another command and the report for that gets pouched?
This is what I ask BRC todo, in this order...

This command looks in the above directory for files containing CD1, CD2 etc...renames these to "_RENAME_" + original filename then prints the result to a file
Code: Select all
> %TESTPATH1%\DiscCheck.nfo %BRC% /DIR:%1 /RECURSIVE /NOFOLDERS /IGNOREFILEX /pattern:"*.avi *.mkv *.mov *.mp4 *.mpeg *.wmv" /regexp:([\w\d].*)([\d].*)([\Q.\E])([\w]+):_RENAME_\1\2\3\4 /EXECUTE

This command search the created file "DiscCheck.nfo" for "renamed to _RENAME_" witch deterrence if any files containing CD1, CD2 was found!
Code: Select all
ECHO|findstr /I /C:"renamed to _RENAME_" %TESTPATH1%\DiscCheck.nfo"

This command change any uppercase ext to lowercase
Code: Select all
%BRC% /DIR:%1 /RECURSIVE /NOFOLDERS /CHANGEEXTCASE:L /EXECUTE

This command finds nfo dupes named somename.nfo.1 At first I tried to use "find" to located somename.nfo.1 etc, but could not get it to work with either
Code: Select all
*.nfo.? or *?nfo* or *.nfo.* or *.nfo??

so I use BRC witch is not that stupid and finds them easily! But as BRC cannot delete/move/copy anything (witch if it could, would get me to buy it Jim Willsher :roll: )
Then have BRC set any nfo dupes found with read-only attribute using
Code: Select all
%BRC% /DIR:%1 /RECURSIVE /NOFOLDERS /SETR /pattern:"*.nfo.*" /PREFIX:_DEL_ /EXECUTE

as simply using do not work...
Code: Select all
%BRC% /DIR:%1 /RECURSIVE /NOFOLDERS /SETR /pattern:"*.nfo.* /EXECUTE

then I wipe them with
Code: Select all
>nul 2>&1 del /s /q /a:r %1\*


So...maybe its to much for BRC to handle, so output for commands get incorrectly cued or such?
Last edited by Blackkatt on Thu Dec 05, 2013 8:28 am, edited 14 times in total.
Blackkatt
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 11:28 am

BRC output

Postby truth » Wed Dec 04, 2013 7:06 am

You should always post both Orig-FullPathNames & Desired-NewNames.
Otherwise, it becomes a guessing game for those wanting to help solve the problem.

Your 1st-code does not function as you descibe, so we are left wondering:
Is his code wrong?? Is he describing it wrong?? ...and the list goes on.
(most questions answered simply by knowing Desired-NewNames)

It sounds like you're creating errors that require work-arounds??
Theres definitely alot more going on here, so its foolish to guess right now.

BRC's output only has 2 options: showing renames(default) or not(/quiet).
It cannot generate false output, though its output can be improperly redirected.
If you need better in/out filtering (beyond redirects/pipes at the prompt) I'd highly recommend sed.
truth
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2013 3:39 am
Location: Earth, OrionArm, MilkyWay

Re: BRC output

Postby Blackkatt » Wed Dec 04, 2013 7:49 am

truth wrote:You should always post both Orig-FullPathNames & Desired-NewNames.
Otherwise, it becomes a guessing game for those wanting to help solve the problem.

I have!

truth wrote:Your 1st-code does not function as you descibe, so we are left wondering:
Is his code wrong?? Is he describing it wrong?? ...and the list goes on.
(most questions answered simply by knowing Desired-NewNames)

Say what? the first "code" does what is suppose to "redirect the output of BRC"

truth wrote:It sounds like you're creating errors that require work-arounds??
Theres definitely alot more going on here, so its foolish to guess right now.

hmm, not really, it must have been that I began to explain what I think was happening that cases BRC to report incorrect path where it processed/renamed files...that got you all confused?

truth wrote:BRC's output only has 2 options: showing renames(default) or not(/quiet).

I know, As you can see I catch BRC outout on the first "code"

truth wrote:It cannot generate false output, though its output can be improperly redirected.
If you need better in/out filtering (beyond redirects/pipes at the prompt) I'd highly recommend sed.

you recommend something called "Sed" and you tell me to be more clear, how the ....should i know what sed is ? :mrgreen: , You think its the first that comes up on a google search... :D

truth wrote:You should always post both Orig-FullPathNames & Desired-NewNames
.
what??? I have done that! :shock: what is it you don't get, guess work? it's very clear what my issue is...It's not about renaming anything, its about BRC reports the incorrect location of the files that it processed/renamed...(now above) I explain just that! and what I think is happening...

Wile where at it, maybe somebody could help me figure out how to replace these files now called _RENAME_filename.avi with part of the folder name like
Code: Select all
iCMD The Man-CD1.avi   and   iCMD The Man-CD2.avi
Blackkatt
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 11:28 am

BRC output

Postby truth » Wed Dec 04, 2013 3:09 pm

Firstly, that code is a bit different from the original posted line:
> %1\DiscCheck.txt BRC /Dir:%1 /Recursive /NoFolders /IgnoreFileX /regexp:([\S\w?])([\d])([\Q.\E]):-CD\2
At best, it was misleading, perhaps it was just a bad paste, I wont guess what happened.

Precisely why I didnt bother guessing - too much missing data.. For now, I'll assume there's more to edit?
I'll give it some time, its best to keep these things on the same post anyway.

But again, BRU doesnt alter its output-format in the manner you now describe.
I've redirected hundreds of output-files, & never once had an issue with its output-buffer.
I dont even see that as a remote possibility, with so few filenames.

Yes, sed will be the first shown, I dont go anywhere without it, but it wouldnt help in this case.
Your data stream would already be corrupted before reaching sed, from what I have no idea.
For that, we need to see the appropriate batchlines, Orig-FullPathFileNames, & DesiredRenames.
truth
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2013 3:39 am
Location: Earth, OrionArm, MilkyWay

Re: BRC output

Postby Blackkatt » Wed Dec 04, 2013 3:51 pm

truth wrote:Firstly, that code is a bit different from the original posted line:
> %1\DiscCheck.txt BRC /Dir:%1 /Recursive /NoFolders /IgnoreFileX /regexp:([\S\w?])([\d])([\Q.\E]):-CD\2
At best, it was misleading, perhaps it was just a bad paste, I wont guess what happened.

Yes it is, its the regexp that differ, but again unreverent! As the topic says, this is about BRC showing the incorrect processing folder...

truth wrote:Precisely why I didnt bother guessing - too much missing data.. For now, I'll assume there's more to edit?
I'll give it some time, its best to keep these things on the same post anyway.

Don't bother, do not want your help! "too much missing data.. For now, I'll assume there's more to edit?" nothing is missing, just you being a smart ass & a know it all, that has trouble reading...

truth wrote:But again, BRU doesnt alter its output-format in the manner you now describe.
I've redirected hundreds of output-files, & never once had an issue with its output-buffer.
I dont even see that as a remote possibility, with so few filenames.

are you blind? whatever the issue there's a problem with the output that even a blind man could see.
Blackkatt
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 11:28 am

BRC output

Postby truth » Wed Dec 04, 2013 9:20 pm

My 1st post did address output, I even named the post (unedited) after it!

As stated, you're issue isnt BRU's output, its the way you're handling it, much of which is been conveniently omitted.
The sooner you come to grips with that, the sooner you will have a chance at solving your own problem.
Sorry if I didnt jump through enough hoops for you with more guesses, if thats what you were fishing for.

Correct: too much missing-data, and waaay too-much irrelevant data, VERY trollish behavior if you ask me.
Not to mention the constantly-changing edits, with no indication whatsoever to indicate when edits were complete.
And then any requests for data to actually help the poster get attacked??

Do you actually hear yourself?.. Thread abandoned.
www.bulkrenameutility.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=2142
Last edited by truth on Sat Dec 14, 2013 12:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
truth
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2013 3:39 am
Location: Earth, OrionArm, MilkyWay

Re: BRC display incorrect Processing Folder

Postby Blackkatt » Thu Dec 05, 2013 8:06 am

truth wrote:As stated, you're issue isnt BRU's output, its the way you're handling it, much of which has been conveniently omitted.

Hahahaha! yeah right! what would be the point of that?

truth wrote:Not to mention the constantly-changing data

All done trying to make you understand, but obviously that's impossible mr know it all...

the sooner you understand that it's not about any nfo files, renaming etc,
truth wrote:the sooner you will have a chance at understanding.
Blackkatt
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 11:28 am

Re: BRC display incorrect Processing Folder

Postby Admin » Mon Dec 09, 2013 3:21 am

Hi

Processing Folder C:\Users\Test\Desktop\iCMD.The.Man.DVDRip.XviD-PREVIEW\
Processing Folder C:\Users\Test\Desktop\iCMD.The.Man.DVDRip.XviD-PREVIEW\CD1\
Filename iCMD.Origins.CD1.avi renamed to _RENAME_iCMD.Origins.CD1.avi
Processing Folder C:\Users\Test\Desktop\iCMD.The.Man.DVDRip.XviD-PREVIEW\CD2\
Filename iCMD.Origins.CD2.avi renamed to _RENAME_iCMD.Origins.CD2.avi <-- correct location
Filename ISCD title SPACE cd1.avi renamed to _RENAME_ISCD title SPACE cd1.avi <-- all from here are actually located in the root dir


This is normal, as directory scanning is done recursively.
BRC starts with root and it finds CD1\ first so it processes CD1\ and files within first.
Next it finds CD2\ so it processes CD2\ and files within first.
At this point it processes the rest of the files in the root.
If there were a subfolder called Z\ it would be processed last with all files within.
Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2351
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 8:39 pm

Re: BRC display incorrect Processing Folder

Postby Blackkatt » Mon Dec 09, 2013 8:00 am

Okey,

in my first example (not present atm) it shows an .nfo file in root directory FRIST. Then moves on and displays the rest of the files like you say in "CD1 and CD2". Under the last subdir it then shows the rest of the files located in root, so I makes one think... :)
Blackkatt
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 11:28 am

Re: BRC display incorrect Processing Folder

Postby Admin » Mon Dec 09, 2013 11:10 am

Hi, the folder is processed alphabetically, so some files could be processed first, then subfolders, files within subfolders, etc. For example

a.txt
b\a.txt
b\d.txt
c\a.txt
c\h.txt
h.txt
etc
Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2351
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 8:39 pm

Re: BRC display incorrect Processing Folder

Postby Blackkatt » Mon Dec 09, 2013 2:30 pm

Admin wrote:Hi, the folder is processed alphabetically, so some files could be processed first, then subfolders, files within subfolders, etc. For example

a.txt
b\a.txt
b\d.txt
c\a.txt
c\h.txt
h.txt
etc



aah that explains it! :D
Blackkatt
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 11:28 am

Re: BRC display incorrect Processing Folder

Postby Admin » Tue Dec 10, 2013 3:35 am

The output can be confusing when it jumps back to a parent folder after having processed a subfolder.
Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2351
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 8:39 pm


Return to BRC Support