Explorer Context Menu differences in BRU versions?

Bulk Rename Utility How-To's

Explorer Context Menu differences in BRU versions?

Postby filesearcher » Wed Nov 24, 2021 1:07 pm

I've used the beloved version 2.7.1.2 as portable for some time, and created my own shortcut link placed in Win 7 "Send To" folder.

The behavior has been that even if BRU was opened say to "drive wherever\folder X",
it would instantly jump to a new "drive\folder" location whenever I would R-click > "Send To" on the new location.

This is desired behavior as it means BRU is left open/running, and immediately responsive to the new task-demand.

[I only get a minor "warning" d-box if an item remains cursor-selected within BRU whilst going to the new location]

---------------------
Today I ran the new version 3.4.3.0 portable, and it won't respond to a changed location - it keeps focused on the previous location.

So then I came here and registered, and learned about the 'new' context menu option for the INSTALLED BRU

( viewtopic.php?f=4&t=5268&p=14160&hilit=context+menu#p14160 )

and viewtopic.php?p=8175#p8175 )

Then I installed BRU and it responds beautifully to a changed location
(while open at one location, it immediately changes to the new location requested by Rclick context "Bulk Renamer Here")

MY QUESTION -- why doesn't the new version portable respond like the old one - it's coded differently obviously - but out of necessity/conflicts/ ??

I tried using Target: "D:\0..Apps.p\Bulk.Rename.Utility.p\Bulk Rename Utility.exe" "%1" but that didn't work

** CAN a link be created for the version 3.4.3.0 portable to function like the Installed version?

* I see also that a number of folks have searched for, and discovered, the hotkeys to selectively change the work panes --
that's a terrifice bit of coding, and I've bound those to my trusty STrokeIt mouse strokes.

Thank You for this excellent and necessary app!
filesearcher
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2021 9:56 am

Re: Explorer Context Menu differences in BRU versions?

Postby therube » Wed Nov 24, 2021 5:06 pm

It looks like current BRU uses "/here:DIRLETTER:\PATH\DIRECTORY"

So (from a command line) something like:
Code: Select all
"Bulk Rename Utility.exe"  "/here:c:\tmp\out\1"
or
"Bulk Rename Utility.exe" "/here:c:\usr"


And you should be able to do similar in your SendTo.

BRU_HERE.bat:
Code: Select all
"C:\DEV\RENAME\BRU\Bulk Rename Utility.exe"  "/here:%1"

(adjust the path to bru.exe as needed)
therube
 
Posts: 1314
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: Explorer Context Menu differences in BRU versions?

Postby filesearcher » Wed Nov 24, 2021 6:20 pm

Thx so much for your response -

I've tried - without success :

"D:\0..Apps.p\Bulk.Rename.Utility.p\Bulk Rename Utility.exe" "/here:%1"

"D:\0..Apps.p\Bulk.Rename.Utility.p\Bulk Rename Utility.exe" "\here: %1"

"D:\0..Apps.p\Bulk.Rename.Utility.p\Bulk Rename Utility.exe" "//here:%1"

"D:\0..Apps.p\Bulk.Rename.Utility.p\Bulk Rename Utility.exe" "\here:%1"

"D:\0..Apps.p\Bulk.Rename.Utility.p\Bulk Rename Utility.exe" "\\here:%1"

In each case, BRU the app does open - but with absolutely no directory highlighted/targeted --
nothing in the working pane or the path/address bar.

Previous to posting this, I did install BRU in a VM using Total Uninstall - hoping to catch a simple registry entry I could duplicate,
but I do not find anything I can use at my stage of knowledge.

There is an entry referencing BRUhere64.dll , and the closest usable entry (to my knowledge) is the \"%L\"" part--

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\BRUfile\shell\open\command]
@="\"C:\\Program Files\\Bulk Rename Utility\\Bulk Rename Utility.exe\" \"%L\""

If it's useful I can paste the whole "Changes to the registry" .reg file I exported out of the VM install (VMWare Workstation 15 Win 7 host & guest)

? Next suggestion ? Thx
filesearcher
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2021 9:56 am

Re: Explorer Context Menu differences in BRU versions?

Postby therube » Wed Nov 24, 2021 9:42 pm

(Is there such a thing) or are you running a "Portable Apps" version of BRU?

BRU itself has a ZIP "NoInstall" version.
(Now whether it is entirely self contained, as you'd expect a Portable Apps item to be, I don't know.)

D:\0..Apps.p\Bulk.Rename.Utility.p\

Is that the actual path where BRU is?
(If this is an actual Portable Apps item, then you should not be running "Bulk Rename Utility.exe" - directly.
Instead you would/should be running whatever PA uses as its "stub".exe, which in turn would run "Bulk Rename Utility.exe".)

The slash, /, should be a forward slash, as that is designating a switch (to BRU from the command line).
%1 or %L shouldn't matter (that I know of). Either should be fine. (Possibly some nuances in there, not sure.)
(Almost certain, though didn't check, that there should not be any space after the colon, :.)

If you run:
Code: Select all
"D:\0..Apps.p\Bulk.Rename.Utility.p\Bulk Rename Utility.exe" "/here:C:\Windows"

direct from a C: prompt, does that work, loading C:\Windows ?
therube
 
Posts: 1314
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: Explorer Context Menu differences in BRU versions?

Postby therube » Wed Nov 24, 2021 9:54 pm

Actually it seems to work (at least on my end, Win7 too, NoInstall version of BRU) with either /here:%1 or simply %1.
So try that, just %1 (or %L).

Code: Select all
"D:\0..Apps.p\Bulk.Rename.Utility.p\Bulk Rename Utility.exe" "%L"


You already did...
I tried using Target: "D:\0..Apps.p\Bulk.Rename.Utility.p\Bulk Rename Utility.exe" "%1" but that didn't work
therube
 
Posts: 1314
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: Explorer Context Menu differences in BRU versions?

Postby therube » Wed Nov 24, 2021 10:04 pm

In your SendTo batch file, put an echo (& pause) in there;

Code: Select all
echo %1
echo %L
pause

"D:\0..Apps.p\Bulk.Rename.Utility.p\Bulk Rename Utility.exe" "%L"


What do the echo's return?


In \SendTo\, are you using a batch file (.bat) or a link (.lnk)?
(Not sure if that matters.)

On my end, I use both, & for .lnk, they mostly point to .bat files (stored elsewhere).
(Some do point directly to an .exe.)


---


[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\BRUfile\shell\open\command]
@="\"C:\\Program Files\\Bulk Rename Utility\\Bulk Rename Utility.exe\" \"%L\""

Yes, that's what I see too.
And changing %L to /here:%L (in the Registry), works equally well.
therube
 
Posts: 1314
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 6:23 pm

Re: Explorer Context Menu differences in BRU versions?

Postby filesearcher » Wed Nov 24, 2021 11:03 pm

1) No portable apps - it's the BRU zip NoInstall version, yes it's the actual path

2) I opened cmd.exe as Admin on the Desktop -- also logged out/back in as Guest=NON admin, & SUCCESSfully ran :

"D:\0..Apps.p\Bulk.Rename.Utility.p\Bulk Rename Utility.exe" "/here:C:\Windows"
----------------------------------------------------------
3) I use a .lnk, not a batch file for "Send To" - but I can/will create a .bat file if I need to

4) Of course with this portable, there is NO registry entry at [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\BRUfile\.......
that was from the Install on the VM.

edit - now I just created the registry structure:
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\BRUfile]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\BRUfile\shell]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\BRUfile\shell\open]
@="Open with Bulk Rename Utility"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\BRUfile\shell\open\command]
@="\"D:\\0..Apps.p\\Bulk.Rename.Utility.p\\Bulk Rename Utility.exe\" \"%L\""
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
but now when I Rclick on anything it's defaulting to opening BRU at Windows - like in the command line previously !!
filesearcher
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2021 9:56 am

Re: Explorer Context Menu differences in BRU versions?

Postby filesearcher » Wed Nov 24, 2021 11:06 pm

Of course I can, and probably will, just INSTALL the Blessed f'ing app ...
(probably after a trivial re-image w/ my Drive Snapshot)
but it's the Principle of Learning Something that I'm after here, Thx
filesearcher
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2021 9:56 am

Re: Explorer Context Menu differences in BRU versions?

Postby filesearcher » Wed Nov 24, 2021 11:51 pm

Reimaged, ready to go again fresh if there's a success to be had w/ the portable idea
filesearcher
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2021 9:56 am

Re: Explorer Context Menu differences in BRU versions?

Postby Luuk » Thu Nov 25, 2021 1:08 am

For myself, Im not use the installed versions because just creating my own contexts.
So for each of my portable versions, I do just create a registry key like...

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\BRU-3430\command
(default)=="D:\PathTo\MyPortableVersion4340\Bulk Rename Utility.exe" "%1"

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\BRU-3420\command
(default)=="D:\PathTo\MyPortableVersion4320\Bulk Rename Utility.exe" "%1"

This grants right-clicking any folder, then choosing between BRU-3430 or other versions to open the right-clicked folder.
So far, Im never having any troubles leaving out the /here: before typing my %1.


If there is dangerous siblings to get the computer, it can be much safer settling everything below HKCU like...
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Classes\Directory\shell\BRU-3430\command
Luuk
 
Posts: 692
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2020 10:58 pm

Re: Explorer Context Menu differences in BRU versions?

Postby filesearcher » Thu Nov 25, 2021 2:37 am

@Luuk - thx for your suggestions also --
(btw - no worries about others on the computer, so HKCR is safe for me :)

I realize I was stuck by fixating on the context-idea of trying to make "Send To" work b/c that's what worked IN THE PAST!,
when I know darn well how to create a 'standard' Rclick context menu entry as you suggested -
at different levels depending on the situation -- *, DesktopBackground, Directory, Drive, Folder, etc.

For my 1st trial, when I used either argument/modifier "%1" or "%L", only the 1st location I clicked on opened in BRU --
when I clicked on a 2nd location, BRU didn't respond and go to that location, but just stayed at the 1st one.

Here's what is working as the command (Windows 7 x64): "D:\0..Apps.p\Bulk.Rename.Utility.p\Bulk Rename Utility.exe" "/here:%1"

As @therube suggested, BRU is coded to use /here: to change locations on the fly, right?

Exported reg file:
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\*\shell\Open in BRU-3430]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\*\shell\Open in BRU-3430\command]
@="\"D:\\0..Apps.p\\Bulk.Rename.Utility.p\\Bulk Rename Utility.exe\" \"/here:%1\""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\BRU-3430]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\BRU-3430\command]
@="\"D:\\0..Apps.p\\Bulk.Rename.Utility.p\\Bulk Rename Utility.exe\" \"/here:%1\""

Of course in the exported .reg file, the <space-forward-slash \ > preceeding the "/here:%1\"" is added by the OS in the exported notation.

So by adding the entry at HKCR\*\shell, I get to target files, and then HKCR\Folder\shell targets everything else.
--------------------------------
So this 'works' now for the portable - however, if there's more learning to be had, I'm grateful to pay attention and experiment some more! Thank You ~
filesearcher
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2021 9:56 am


Return to How-To